The National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition (NABS) held its annual membership meeting in Milwaukee, WI on October 16, 2017. Board candidates, Henry Cagey (Lummi), James LaBelle Sr. (Inupiaq), and Vance Blackfox, (Cherokee) were elected to the Board of Directors. Each member will serve a three-year term and will assist NABS in its mission to bring boarding school healing to Native communities.

NABS is pleased to have each new member on the board and extends a hearty welcome to each new director!

The board of directors also held officer elections at the board meeting following the membership meeting. NABS 2017-18 board members and positions are as follows:

  • Marlene Helgemo, President
  • Sandy White Hawk, 1st Vice President
  • Sarah Eagle Heart, 2nd Vice President
  • Vance Blackfox, Secretary & Treasurer
  • Henry Cagey
  • Jacob Davis
  • Jerilyn DeCoteau
  • James LaBelle, Sr.
  • Denise Lajimodiere

Below are bios for the new members: